The Department of Electrotechnical and Computer Engineering (DEEC) is a teaching and research unit of the Faculty of Science and Technology of the Universidade NOVA de Lisboa (FCT NOVA), dedicated to progress, research, teaching quality and provision of services to the community specialized in the field of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

DEEC / FCT / UNL was created in 1993 to promote teaching and scientific research in the fields of Electrical Engineering. In the academic year 1993/1994 a Degree in Electrical Engineering (LEE) was created.

Currently, DEEC has a majority share and, consequently, the responsibility of teaching a Master in Integrated Electrical and Computer Engineering - MIEEC, a Master in Renewable Energy Engineering - MEER (2nd Cycle - Bologna Process) and a Doctoral Program in Electrical and Computer Engineering - PDEEC (3rd Cycle - Bologna Process).

DEEC is made up of 49 professors with PhD, 8 with ahabilitation and 11 Invited Professors.



The board of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering are the Head of Department and the Department Council. There is an Executive Committee made up of the Department's Full Professors that deals with strategic and management matters.

The management of each study cicle under the responsibility of DEEC is ensured by a Coordinator, a Scientific Committee and a Pedagogical Committee.

DEEC has a Coordinator to deal with issues related to mobility under the Socrates/Erasmus Programme.

DEEC's Administrative Services provide secretarial support and ensure service to the public


Head of Department

According to the FCT/UNL statutes, the Head of Department is appointed by the Director. It is the department's governing and representative body, and is responsible for defining and conducting the department's scientific and pedagogical policy, within the scope of the Faculty's general policy and its statutes.

The current Head of Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is Professor João Martins.

Departament Council

The Department Council includes, in addition to the Head of Department, a set of nominated elements (Full Professors and MIEEC Coordinator), one member from each scientific area and three elected members.

The current members of the Department Council are: